The Office – bearers


Dr. A.H.Rama Rao [b. 1945] is the President of the National Education Society of Karnataka. He was an old student of the National College, Basavanagudi. He joined the Department of Physics in the year 1966. He was constantly associated with Dr. H.N., the President of The National Education Society of Karnataka, and continues to lead the institutions grow from strength to strength. He has a Doctorate to his credit in Physics from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. The State Government of Karnataka honoured Dr. A. H. R with the Rajyotsava Award in recognition of his service to the cause of education. Dr. A. H. R has gone beyond the frontiers of education and has identified himself with problems of the poor in society. Hence, he has involved himself in many social services for the upliftment of the poor. He has taken up many outreach programmes in different villages. His contribution to the upliftment of women and primary education in rural areas is well known.

Dr. A. H. R has donated several lakhs of rupees not only to the different programmes of the N.E.S of Karnataka, but also to several Cultural Organizations and Rural Development Programmes. His work in villages, which spans over a decade, has touched some of the needs of about 30,000 students in different primary schools of Anekal Taluk. A special mention should be made of his contribution to the welfare of the 400 blind inmates of Sri. Ramana Maharishi Academy for the Blind.

Dr. A. H. R. has been associated with the Bangalore Science Forum since 1967 in different capacities as Treasurer, as Secretary and as Vice-President. He has contributed generously towards the development of the Computer Science Laboratories at the National College Basavanagudi and the National College Jayanagar. He was also the Head of the Departments of Computer Science in both the colleges for several years. He has been instrumental in Computerization of our Libraries. Since its inception, he has been the Vice-President of the Bangalore Lalithakala Parishath, an organization to promote Cultural Activities in the National College, Jayanagar campus.

With his untiring enthusiasm, Dr. A. H. Rama Rao has many fruitful years to serve the society in its various aspects.

Sri Y.G. MADHUSUDAN, Vice- President

Sri Y.G. MADHUSUDAN is a former student of the National College Basavanagudi, is the Managing Director of Sri.Gopalakrishna Textile Mills, Bangalore. He is the Chairman of YAS National High School, Managing Committee

Dr.P.Sadananda Maiya, Secretary

Dr.Sadanand Maiya was an alumnus of the National College Basavanagudi. He has an Electrical Engineering Degree to his credit. He has submitted his thesis for Ph.D.,degree to the University of Columbia, USA, for having worked in the field of application of NANO Technology in food processing. He has also been confered with Honorary Doctorate from the University of Tumkur.

He is a reputed entrepreneur in the food industry, and is  credited to have made ‘MTR’ a world wide known brand. As an entrepreneur he has initiated many innovative things in the food processing industry, which have gained worldwide recognition. He has to his credit many awards in recognition of his contribution to the various sections of the society. He has been a recepient of the Rajyothsava Award from the Govt. of Karnataka in 2006, Aryabhata Award, Kempegowda Award, Honest Tax Payer award from the Karnataka Commercial Taxes Department, and ‘Life time achievement’Award from All India Food Processors’ Association.

He is a major donor to the National Education Society of Karnataka having donated crores of Rupees. ‘Dr.P.Sadananda Maiya Pre-University Block’ in the National College,Jayanagar and ‘Dr. H.Narasimhaiah Multimedia Hall’ in the National College Basavanagudi, are testimonies of his munificent philanthropy.  He has been a Governing Member  and is at present the Honorary Secretary of the National Education Society of Karnataka.

Prof S.N.Nagaraja Reddy, Secretary

Prof.S.N.Nagaraja Reddy, Formarly Prof. and H.OD of Psychology, and also an alumnus of the National College Jayanagar. A teacher of repute, Professor Reddy, during his service of more than 3 decades, he held many portfolios in the college including that of the Vice-Principal. He was on the Managing Committee of the National College Jayanagar for over two decades. Besides he has been an active Governing Council member of the National Education Society for two decades. He was also the Director for CMR Group of Institutions in Bangalore. He is at present the Honorary Secretary of the National Education Society of Karnataka.


Sri. C.R. Jayachandra Settty was an old student of  the National High School and the National College. He has served as a member of the Governing Council of the National Education Society of Karnataka for more than three decades. He is connected with various charitable institutions of the city. He is a leading Advocate and Notary.  He was Editor of well-known magazines. He is an executive committee member of Ashaktha Poshaka Sabha and Arya Vyshya Vyayama Shala. At present he is the Treasurer of the National Education Society of Karnataka.