The Department was established in 1945 along with the starting of the college.




1. Dr.  Gopalakrishna D. M.Sc.,Ph.D Associate Professor
2. Dr.  Y. C. Kamala M.Sc.,Ph.D Associate Professor
3. Sri.  Achutha Raju J.  M.Sc Assistant Professor
4. Smt. Aishwarya V Pandith M.Sc. Assistant Professor
5. Smt. Deepa N M.Sc. Assistant Professor


  • Physics, Mathematics, Electronics
  • Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science
  • Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics
  • 4 year BS  [ Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Computer Science]

Learning Resources of the department

The Department has three well-equipped laboratories with all modern equipments. The Department has a library of 100 books for the use of faculty and students.

Highlights of Faculty performance

  • Dr. Gopalakrishna attended an international conference in Poland where he presented a paper in July 2010. Currently he is also the programme co-ordinator of NSS in the College.
  • Dr. Y.C. Kamala  has attended a number of Conferences at  the national level. She was appointed as the Convener of the Science Model Making competition , has translated the CD ‘The life and works of Einstein’ into Kannada from English. , elected as associate member of NIAS Bangalore, member IIWC., District Coordinator for the Government of India programme ‘Play and Learn’. She is at present member of the JSS Foundation for Science and Society.
  • Dr. H.P. Padmini is an active volunteer of the Ramakrishna Mission.
  • Prof. C.R. Sampathkumari, member, Advisory Committee, Staff Selection  Commission, Government of India.

Development and expansion plans

  1. To establish a  Liquid crystal Lab.
  2. To  buy more sophisticated instruments.
  3. To start  computer simulation experiments.