The Department of Economics was started in the year 1975. Prof. Sheshappa was the first Head of the Department. He was assisted by a visiting faculty Prof. S. Ramesh of the Vijaya College and Prof. M Siddanand of the SJRC College, Bangalore which are renowned Colleges situated in the South of Bangalore. Prof. Sheshappa joined the Karnataka Administrative Service (KAS) in the year 1983. In the same year Dr. PadminiRao was transferred from the First Grade College, Kolar Gold Fields. She headed the Department and retired in February 2013. She has been assisted by eminent visiting faculty whenever the need arose.

Prof. SheelaJayanth another eminent teacher trained in Stella Maris, Chennai, joined the Department in 1991. In 1998 She was transferred to our sister institution at A.E.S. National College, Gowribidanur, Kolar District. When she was again transferred to the National College, Jayanagar, she was appointed to teach some classes in our college as part of the work load adjustment. From 2010, she has been appointed as Controller of Examinations at the National College, Jayanagar, and is presently the Head of the Department after the retirement of Dr. PadminiRao.

Prof. B.N. VenuGopal a former student of the National College, Basavanagudi joined as a full-time faculty in 1998. Prof. Gangaiah, a visiting faculty , who was teaching Mathematical Economics retired in 2013.

Dr. Suresha K P joined the department in January 2015. He is a very keen researcher with teaching experience in PUC, UG and PG classes. Presently pursuing Post-Doctoral fellowship, he has presented innumerable papers in National and international conferences and seminars and has several books and publications to his credit.