The Department of Mathematics was established in 1945. Mathematics is an important course for all streams of learning – BSc, BA, B.Com, BCA, and BS


  • Prof A. Anantha Rangan, MSc, Associate Professor and Head of the Department
  • Smt. P. Sundramma  MSc, Associate Professor [registered for MPhil]
  • Sri. H.G. Amaraprabhu MSc, Assistant  Professor [registered for MPhil]
  • Sri I.C. Ballur, MSc, Assistant Professor
  • Smt. R. Vathsala MSc, visiting faculty
  • Sri M. Mahantesh MSc, Assistant Professor


Faculty Highlights

  • Prof.  R. Vathsala is a member of Board of Studies in Mathematics in Bangalore University since September 2009.
  • Prof A. Anantha Rangan has authored I and II PU Text Book.


BSc  – Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics

BSc  – Physics, Computer Science, Mathematics

BSc  – Physics, Electronics, Mathematics

BCA – Mathematical Foundations for BCA students

4 year  BS  [ Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Computer Science]

BA  –     Mathematical Applications in Economics

BCom –  Business Mathematics

PGCET classes for MCA Entrance

Computer Recruitment Aptitude classes

An Add-On Course on Indian Mathematics and Austronomy.

Highhlights of Syllabi

  • Topolgy
  • Transportation Problems
  • Operations Research

Modern teaching methods

  • Collaboration withI.I. Sc., T.I.F.R. and Central College, Bangalore

Innovative practices

  • Under the Mathematics Association named “Omega”, lecture contests and written quiz competitions are conducted.
  • A number of problem working classes introduced

Development and expansion plans of the Department

  • Introduction of Mathematics Lab
  • Aptitude classes